The Department of Informatics and Telecommunications belongs to the School of Sciences of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. It was officially founded in 1989, however, it started functioning in 1986, further to a decision taken by the Senate, as an "Interdisciplinary Study Programme in the Computer Sciences and Communications" between the Faculties of Physics and Mathematics. Today the Department has 42 faculty members: 20 Professors, 10 Associate Professors, 11 Assistant Professors and 1 Lecturers.
In 2000, the Department was renamed from Department of Informatics to Department of Informatics and Telecommunications.